Rugby Development

Middlesex Rugby is committed to sustaining and developing the grassroots game at all levels and in all sections of the game, helping all club, school, college and university teams within the county thrive and prosper.  We aim to support the provision of opportunities for all to become involved in the game, more often and more locally, whether as a player, volunteer, coach or referee.

The Rugby Development Committee works closely with the RFU delivery team of the RDOs (Rugby Development Officers) and CRCs (Community Rugby Coaches).

Middlesex Rugby Bursaries

in /by

Middlesex Rugby has funding available in the form of three bursaries designed to help develop, grow and sustain your club.

To apply for any of these bursaries, please complete the application form, ensuring that you meet the application deadlines.

All grant recipients will be required to provide information on numbers taking part and key outcomes as well as providing a case study outlining the approach taken, main actions, issues and successes.

Read more…

Volunteer Appreciation Awards

in /by

Screen Shot 2016-06-18 at 17.54.04

The Volunteer Appreciation Awards are the county’s way of recognising the hard work and commitment of our club volunteers without whom our clubs could not function. For more of the volunteer awards and how to nominate your hard working volunteers Click Here

 

Age Grade Rugby

in /by

Following a four year review of rugby for under 18’s, led by the RFU, in consultation with a wide cross section of the game, Age Grade Rugby will roll out from September 2016. Age Grade Rugby is based on the principles of player-centred, development-driven and competition supported.  The wants and needs of young people will […]

The remit of the Rugby Development Committee is to:

Develop and implement plans in conjunction with the RFU professional staff to support the County in achieving its Strategic Objectives in relation to:

• More players, officials, volunteers and partnerships
• Better club and community facilities
• Greater social inclusion and ethnic diversity
• Help clubs become more sustainable
• Enjoyment for ALL

Ensure that the plans include the following:

• Volunteers – Develop and strengthen volunteering within the County by working with the RFU Volunteer Engagement Manager and club Volunteer Coordinators

• Women & Girls – Facilitate the growth in the women and girls game at all levels

• Students – Strengthen and grow all student rugby with an adult game outcome

• Schools & the Wider Community – develop stronger links between schools, clubs and their local communities

• Mini & Junior Rugby – Provide support, help and appropriate competitions for clubs who have mini or youth sections

• Club Development – Provide support for all clubs to become more sustainable in terms of player base, facilities and RFU Accreditation

• Club Referee & Coaching Development – Encourage the growth of club refereeing and coaching coordinators

Community Rugby Committee

Chair: Louise Latter
Secretary: Ian Webster
County Officer Liaison: Brian East
W&G Rep: TBC
Middlesex Schools RFU:    Davey Jones
YRA Co-ordinator:    Cameron Taylor
Marketing Liaison:    Alex Pereira-Inacio

CLUB DEVELOPMENT
Facilities & Funding: Graham Lee
ClubSafe Sustainability: Chris Moore
Club Sustainability Bursaries: Carol Isherwood

VOLUNTEER LIAISON
Club Volunteer Coordinator: Renato Congias
Volunteer Recognition: Andy Brooks
CB Volunteer Co-Ordinator: Brian East

MINI & YOUTH
13 -18 Age Group: TBC
7 – 12 Age Group: Waheed Aslam
Student Rugby:  James Perry

REFEREEING & COACHING
Club Coach Co-ordinator:  TBC
Club Referee Co-ordinator:  Renato Congias

RFU professional staff

Area Manager:  Gavin Williams
email: gavinwilliams@rfu.com  tel: 0776 496 0391

Rugby Development Officers

Ronnie Barry email: ronniebarry@rfu.com tel: 07764 336 718

Community Rugby Coaches

Rory Greenslade-Jones email: rorygreensladejones@rfu.com tel: 07872 672620
Martin Crossan (CRC) email: martincrossan@rfu.com tel: 07872 465422
Rupert Deane  email: rupertdeane@rfu.com tel: 07738 648950
Sagan Daniels  email: sagandaniels@rfu.com   tel: 07715 856769
Reece Riley email: reeceriley@rfu.com

RFU Specialists

Player Development Officer:  Dan Whiteman  email: danwhiteman@rfu.com tel: 07738 648918
Area Facilities Manager:  Jason Bowers email: jasonbowers@rfu.com tel: 07703 466 773
Area Training Manager: Clive Cashell email: clivecashell@rfu.com tel: 07764 960383

Further information

Middlesex Rugby is committed to making rugby in the County more sustainable and the club support programme aims to help all clubs, especially those who are experiencing difficulties.

If you have specific problems at your club or would like to discuss ways in which Middlesex rugby can support your club, then please contact Louise Latter  louise.latter@middlesexrugby.com

The Rugby Development Committee meets monthly at clubs around the county. If you would like them to come to your club to let them know about the issues that affect you, please contact the committee secretary Ian Webster
Email: ian.webster@middlesexrugby.com